Saturday, July 27, 2019


Bechtelsville, PA - Friday July 26 2019 - The Outlaw Enduro Series presented it's first night race of the season this past Friday at the Grandview (PA) Speedway. On an evening graced with perfect weather conditions, Brandon Guyer of Ivyland picked up his first victory in nearly four seasons in the Big Car 75-lap Enduro. Impressive rookie competitor Rob Storms of Bowmansville notched his second straight win in the 75-lap Small Car Enduro. Meanwhile the dominant performance of Allentown's John Bilofsky continued as he captured win #4 on the 2019 season in the Junkyard division.
Exciting wheel to wheel enduro racing returns to the 1/3 mile oval of Grandview Speedway next month Friday August 30th. The enduros will consist of: Big Car (75-laps), Small Car (75-laps), and JunkYard Race (50-laps). The Xcel 600 Modifieds will compete in a series tour race which will include qualifying and a feature event. The Blast From the Past Vintage Stock Cars are also scheduled on the card. Pits open at 2:00PM with grandstand gates opening at 6:00PM. Racing begins at 7:00PM. Adult General Admission to the grandstands is just $10 and Children 12 & under are free.
By luck of the draw, B. Guyer began his victory journey from the 12th starting position. He raced quietly in the second half of the top ten during the early moments of the race and later battled past seven-time Grandview Enduro champion Tim Pauch to take command of the race lead. B. Guyer eventually pulled to a comfortable thirteen second advantage over the second place Pauch and held on to become the fifth different winner in five events held thus far in 2019. It was Brandon's third career Grandview victory.
Despite his involvement in an earlier race excursion, Pauch never fell from the second spot. The current points leader remained in the runner-up position at the finish. Area racer Bob Wink started fourth and competed impressively within the front three throughout most of the event's duration. Wink matched his season's best of third. Veteran racer Joe Kunkel nailed down a 2019 best of fourth while former race winner Scott Riggleman raced from thirteenth to fifth. Riggleman was up to third at one point during the race but settled for fifth in the end.
Chris Rose in the "Silver Bullet Express" led the early moments of the 75-lap Small Car Enduro but Rob Storms was charging through the field in his RSR Racing-99x from the sixth starting spot. Once Storms took command of the race lead he was never challenged and drove to his second straight win. Storms, in his first full year of four cylinder racing, has been enjoying a succesful season at several different speedways. He competed the previous week at Path Valley (PA) Speedway and has also seen action at Trail-Way, Big Diamond and Linda's Speedway this year with the same car..
C. Rose finished 13.813 seconds behind the race winner and also enjoyed a successful outing. It was his third top five finish of the year. The top two finishers were the only cars on the lead lap. Brian Moyer, who was twice a winner last season, powered from thirteenth to a final finish of third. 2016 champion Matt Peck drove his battled scarred-185 to another smooth run of fourth. Second generation talent Michael Bentley matched a season's best of fifth in the end.
The domination of John Bilofsky continued as he won the 50-lap JunkYard race. It was Bilofsky's fourth win in five races and the tenth of his career. Shaking off some earlier season tough luck, Brian Moyer finished second while Albert Molina rebounded from an earlier spin to take a career best of third. Cody Anderson drove to his fourth top five finish of fourth and asphalt racing specialist Jacob Boehm rounded out the front finishing five.
Todd Lapp of Birdsboro won a thrilling 20-lap Vintage/Modified feature which went right down to the wire. Lapp, Mike Stofflet and Andy Cassel entertained the crowd with a three car battle that saw Lapp just edging Cassel at the line followed by Stofflet. Scott Schaeffer, making his first start of the season in his 77s car, was fourth followed by Ron Pauleson.
In the 20-lap Vintage feature, Wes Cassel was dominating the contest until a red flag moment when several cars made contact directly in front of the leader. Rich Decker flipped wildly but he was not injured in the crash. Cassel was left with nowhere to go and became involved in the accident. Rich Orth of Adamstown had been making a superior charge to the front from his ninth place starting spot. Orth became the race leader and steered his Pinto bodied-108 to his first win of the season followed by former feature winner Dominique Deglas, defending champion Wyatt Jacobus Sr., two-time winner Curt Neiman and fourth generation racer Brock Jacobus.
NIGHTSIDE NOTES: Dylan Schantz turned many heads in the Big Car Enduro. In his first full season of Big Car racing, Schantz led for a while and ended up eighth...Previous race winner Justen Steigerwalt was involved in a crash which eliminated him from contention in the Big Car enduro on lap 42, finishing sixteenth...Incredible performace turned in by Dustin Fitzcharles as he sat behind the wheel of the Peck Racing-185 for the very first time. Fitzcharles started back in 20th and finished seventh...Also making a season's first Big Car start was Don Hartman, who previously had been a regular. Hartman ended up 21st, leaving the race on lap 51...New entrants to the the Small Cars for 2019 this week were: Edwin Figueroa, Joe Garey, Daniel Fratesi, and Jacob Boehm. Boehm, who regularly competes at Mahoning Valley (PA) Speedway, enjoyed the best night with an eleventh place finish...

BIG CAR ENDURO (75-LAPS): 1 )77-Brandon Guyer, 2) 5-Tim Pauch, 3) 14-Bob Wink, 4) 32-Joe Kunkel, 5) 7x-Scott Riggleman, 6) 3-Jamie Naftzinger, 7) 185-Dustin Fitzcharles, 8) 88-Dylan Schantz, 9) 707-Chuck Keeley, 10) 195-Aaron Frazier, 11) 70-Chuck Detweiler, 12) 95-Scott Lord, 13) 63-Mike Reichert, 14) 15) 64-Chris Angstadt, 15) 7-Mike Fiskaldo, 16) 36-Justen Steigerwalt, 17) 25T-Travis Guyer, 18) 88X-Shawn Naftzinger, 19) 98W-Logan Wentzel, 20) 341-Jeremy Krauss, 21) 5150-Don Hartman, 22) 19B-Joe Biederman. Race Time: 34 minutes and 39.720 seconds
SMALL CAR ENDURO (75-LAPS): 1) 99x-Rob Storms, 2) 98-Chris Rose, 3) 11-Brian Moyer, 4) 185-Matt Peck, 5) 73-Michael Bentley, 6) 277-John Rose, 7) 53-James Yons, 8) 54-Tyler Schmeltzle, 9) 93-Cody Anderson, 10) 33-Tim Jones, 11) 81-Jacob Boehm, 12) L39-Linsey Rummel, 13) X50-Derek Walsh, 14) 87-Edwin Figueroa, 15) 111-Tyler Lucas, 16) 44-Brenden Hires, 17) 41-Jill Kohl, 18) 024-Daniel Fratesi, 19) 26-Joe Garey, 20) 79-Kelly Frantz, 21) 24-Eric Spengler, Race Time: 45 minutes and 26.351 seconds
JUNKYARD CAR ENDURO (50-LAPS): 1) 17-John Bilofsky, 2) 11-Brian Moyer, 3) 73-Albert Molina, 4) 002-Cody Anderson, 5) 81-Jacob Boehm, 6) 341B-Darrell Herman, 7) 1-John Rose, 8) 391-Tyler Bilofsky. Race Time: 20 minutes and 49.306 seconds.

No comments: